The Very Hungry Caterpillar
The Very Hungry Caterpillar (Photo credit: against the tide)

Yesterday was one of those days where you remember why you’re doing the job you are. I have two little girls of six and seven who come to me for English lessons. They can barely read or write in Italian, so it’s really difficult to work with them. I decided to tell the story “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” by Eric Carle.

What a delight it was, as the girls got excited about the story and “helped” me tell it. I used flashcards obtained from sparklebox.co.uk, which we stuck to the board with prestik. They learnt the days of the week as well as the names of the fruit and food in the story. I found a lovely worksheet on another site (don’t remember the name). They coloured in the various foods in boxes. The days of the week were pasted into their books in such a way that they could lift the days. The food boxes were then pasted under the appropriate day. Next week we’ll revisit colours with a caterpillar activity made of different coloured circles which they have to colour in. And I’m even thinking of making a song to sing with the guitar!

I’ll let you know how that goes!

2 thoughts on “

    1. Thanks Lynn. I hope to share more of my teaching resources and sites for other teachers. I’m always so excited to find a site with really good, free resources. I don’t believe in reinventing the wheel!

      Like

Comments are closed.