Starting over

Written in response to the writing challenge which you can see here: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/writing-challenge-starting-over/#more-12992

Starting over

Silence bounces off the walls,
friends and family have drifted away
warm hugs, promises, invitations 
Left like solemn gifts of love.
 
Survey the walls
Listen to the silence
(How long have I yearned for silence,
surrounded by your music?)
Now I don’t want it,
Yearn for your music.
Ache for the sound of your voice.
Tears flow.
 
Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow
Stretch out before me.
I pack my tears and fears away
Rise up to face the day.
 

Can anyone explain the formatting problem I had here? The first three lines had normal spacing, but then the lines became double spacing. Nothing I do seems to change it. Help?

