On Dying (poem)

 

On dying

Speak to me in silence and in love,
Hold me in your heart.
Let your eyes reflect
Our moments and our days.
Days gone and days to be
Tipping up into nothingness

Hold my hand, my love
But not my soul
When the call comes,
Speed me softly on,
But hold my hand.

Fear not my frailty and my pain
Spoon with me
Your body shielding mine,
Arms enfolding,
Gently holding.

Cry with me
Tears of anger
And of joy,
For times never to be
And times remembered -
Bitter-sweet memories.

Don't be strong - be you
Rage,cry and mourn my going
And when I'm gone,
Find solace in this:

You held me
But never hindered me.
You gave me courage
To stay the course
Until the end.
I wait for you
Until we meet again.

I'm NOT dying. These thoughts were prompted by a visit I made to a friend who is dying. Nothing was said, but her frailty and the million unspoken words in her eyes made me imagine what she might think or say. Although she will never see it, I offer up this poem to her respectfully and lovingly.
