I believe II

This is the second half of the I believe prompt. What do you not believe?

There are few things I would negate with all my heart. These are the ones I can think of.

I don’t believe in beating myself up when I make a mistake. We all make mistakes – some are corkers that seem to blindside us and some are little thorns that inch their way into our psyche – either way, I let it go. I pick myself up and learn from those mistakes. And I’m kind to myself. It’s better not to allow that inner conversation to wipe out all your good points because you’ve made one mistake.

I don’t believe in a God-given right to say whatever you think, whenever you think it, no matter who you’re speaking to or what the subject is. There is a place and time for everything and the time for speaking out should be well chosen. I’m thinking here of personal relationships, not grandiose social causes. So the picnic table your husband made is a little wonky. Is it necessary to tell him that in front of friends when he’s proudly showing off his work? When your child is telling a grandparent about a good grade he got, is that the time to bring up the poor grade in another subject? By the way, I don’t always get this one right. That’s when I refer to the point above.

I don’t believe everything I see or hear in my wanderings around the Internet. It’s important to ask yourself some key questions when reading web articles (or any article, for that matter). Who wrote this, and why? What are their motives for sending this article out onto the Web highway? What facts support their hypothesis? How trustworthy are those facts? Statistics are my favourite “fact” that can be manipulated to support virtually any argument. If an article contains statistics, be doubly wary. How trustworthy is the author? There appears to be a large sector of the population who believe everything they read or hear and rush to disseminate it to friends and family. And so urban legends are born. My cousin saw it on the Net, so it must be true!

What about you? What are the things you don’t believe with all your heart?
Posted from WordPress for Android

