Abracadabra! Sew simple and sew satisfying!

A friend’s daughter has had a baby and I shall be seeing them in October. I’d like to take a gift, so my mind starts mentally browsing my pattern magazines. I eventually haul out those I think are most promising, and after a few pleasant evenings, my choice is made. Her baby will be about six months old when I visit. It will be summer and I think this little romper will be a cute gift.

image

My fabric is rather different: a crinkle cotton with tiny red flowers on a white background. It’s a left over piece from some baby clothes I made a year or three ago. And I have a beautiful red cotton knit for the yoke as well as red binding for the armholes and ties. This is the pattern instruction page.

image

I trace the pattern pieces and hmm…. the fabric is just a little small. What to do? Oh well, I’ll make a dress instead. I cut one long piece with the armholes so that there will be a centre back seam. Oh, in this photo I’ve already placed and sewn on the pockets, but you can see the rectangular shape.

image

I start working on the yoke. After ironing on the interfacing, I decide that some decoration would be nice. Three little hearts are soon stitched onto the front.

image

Even the back looks good! This part won’t be seen as the yoke is folded over and stitched to the body.

image

The body is gathered and stitched to the yoke. Then I measure and stitch the bias binding around the armhole, leaving it long enough to tie. I hold it up and examine it, but something isn’t right. It just isn’t right as a dress. So I measure the legs on the pattern and take a “bite” to form the legs, trimming and overlocking the seams. Ah… that looks better. A quick hem around the legs, the addition of elastic and here’s the final result. I didn’t add the elastic in the waist as it was just sewn on and I was worried it would be uncomfortable.

image

I love how creative sewing is. I can’t believe I got from the original pattern to this:

image

image

image

And I love the way I can make something from nothing. It’s magic!

Why do you love sewing? What have you been making? Share your link in the comments. I’d love to see!

Ps. I almost forgot to say that this pattern comes from an old Diana Tutto Bimbi magazine in Italy, so I can’t share the pattern with you. There is a similar pattern in the La mia Boutique in Italy this month. If you are interested in the magazine, let me know and I’ll try and find out how you can get it around the world. Happy sewing, Ladies!

