Life Celebration #4

The Joy of Giving

My celebration today is in the joy of gift giving, and more specifically, of giving hand made gifts.

There was a time when all gifts used to be hand made. You couldn’t walk into a shop and buy something off the shelf like you can today. You thought about the person to whom you wanted to give the gift. You tried to find the perfect thing. You saved money, time and materials to ensure your gift was perfect. A father might make a toy for a child’s birthday. A daughter might embroider an apron for a mother, or a handkerchief for a father.

This year has been particularly busy for me. We’re visiting family and friends next month, so I’ve tried to make some of my gifts.

image

image

This was the first shopping bag and holder I made. Two more soon followed.
image

image
I think the cat bag is the best. What do you think?

A friend’s daughter has had a baby, so I couldn’t resist making some baby clothes.
image

image

image

The joy of giving a hand made gift is both in the making and in the giving. I love the feeling of completing a project and being happy with it. I love imagining the person wearing it or using it. And I love the look on their face when they open the gift. I think it’s true – it’s better to give than to receive.

Do you make gifts? What do you make? Do you like receiving hand made gifts? Tell us about it in the comments.

6 thoughts on “Life Celebration #4

Comments are closed.