Let me not (poem)

Let me not

Let me not, when morning skies

Are painted hues of red and gold,

Or autumn leaves set hills ablaze

be soul untouched, oblivious and cold

 

Let me not, to piteous gaze

Of children living daily pain,

Or  catatonic victim stares,

Bring apathy and cold disdain

 

Let me not, to lover’s touch

Or gentle gaze and loving hold

In dark of night and light of day,

Be distant and aloof and cold.

 

Let tears fall for all the world

Let me live and embrace the pain

Not only mine, but all around

And sear my soul with cleansing stain

Margaret Brizzolari 2015

 

This poem was inspired by…. Actually, I can’t find the blog that inspired it. The intervening days between reading and writing have wiped it from my memory. I do remember that it suggested writing in the tone of the emotion that you fear most. Of course, this is a little different. Since I can’t link to the original inspiration, I’m going to link to the Jacke Wilson Blog because his Beatles prompts are so amazing. Thanks Jacke.

One thought on “Let me not (poem)

Comments are closed.